Getting behind the wheel of a luxury vehicle or “muscle car” is an extremely enjoyable and exhilarating activity that many people partake in on a regular basis. Unfortunately, an equally common activity is someone who consumes too much alcohol or takes too many prescription pills and decides to get behind the wheel of a vehicle. This is one of the worst decisions a motorist can make since the consequences of a DUI conviction are quite serious and can haunt you for decades, or even the rest of your life.
Drunk Driving Remains a Serious Public Safety Issue
Each and every day, approximately 29 people lose their lives in automobile accidents associated with drunk driving in the United States. To put that number into context, it translate to one death every 50 minutes. Furthermore, the annual cost of alcohol-related crashes totals more than $44 billion, according to the Centers for Disease Control.
Law enforcement across the country attempt to identify and pull over intoxicated motorists. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, roughly 1.5 million motorists are placed under arrest in a given year due to allegedly driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. That translates to 1 out of every 121 licensed drivers being arrested for driving while impaired.
Nevada DUI Laws
It is against the law to operate an automobile in Nevada, and in practically every other state, with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or higher. According to the Nevada Revised Statute 484C.020, “driving under the influence” is defined as someone who operates an automobile with (i) a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher within two hours of driving or (ii) while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, if the motorist is impaired to the degree that the person cannot safely drive.
It is also worth noting that the legal BAC is even stricter for vehicle operators who possess a specialized commercial driver’s licenses. If you are pulled over and found to have a BAC of .04% or higher, you can be charged with a DUI.
Severe Penalties Associated with a Vehicular Homicide Caused by Drunk Driving
If a motorist was intoxicated and caused an accident that killed another person, they will likely be charged with a Category B felony offense. If convicted, the potential penalties include having to serve between 2 and 20 years in state prison along with paying a hefty fine ranging from $2,000 to $5,000.
If the intoxicated motorist had three previous DUI convictions on their record, the offense jumps to a category A felony. If convicted, the motorist could be ordered to serve 25 years in prison or could even wind up spending the rest of their life in prison, with the possibility of parole after 10 years.
Other Serious Consequences Associated with a DUI Conviction
In addition to the serious legal penalties described above, a convicted drunk driver could wind up paying a significant sum of money to even get basic automobile insurance coverage. There is also the risk that the auto insurance company may decide to outright cancel your insurance policy.
Certain professions may be closed to someone who was convicted of DUI or DWI, such as driving a school bus, delivery van, or any other vehicle as part of their employment.
Finally, a convicted drunk driver may face a separate civil lawsuit if they caused an accident that harmed another individual.
Charged with a DUI in Las Vegas? Retain Experienced and Aggressive Defense Counsel Now
As indicated from the array of penalties and potential jail time associated with a DUI conviction, these are charges you should not take lightly. Having a DUI conviction on your record can haunt you for years down the road, which is why you owe it to yourself to have the best Las Vegas DUI defense counsel possible.